top of page

 Primary Years

Our Primary school, typically for learners aged 5-11 years, gives our school a world-class curriculum to develop learner skills and understanding in English, Mathematics and Science. It enables children to assess children's learning as they progress through their school years. 

Photo Nov 25, 12 23 57 PM copy.jpg

Our core subjects of English, Science, History, Geography and Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) are taught by their class teachers, and subject specialists teach French , Music Art, Physical Education and Information Technology. Homework is given in all stages, but with appropriate time allocated for each stage and age. We expect children to read regularly with an adult at home every week. A report is sent home every term outlining exactly what the children are learning in class and how they are doing. ​

At every class, there are particular highlighted features, which help focus the teaching and learning program:

Kindergarten (Ages 5-6): Focus on consolidation of literacy and numeracy skills, as well as developing teamwork and self-confidence through the Cambridge program.

Grade 1 (6-7): Focus on developing social skills and interactions. Our kids begin to read books that are right for their age and understand the concept of numbers.

Grade 2 (Ages 7-8): Focus on independent learning and responsibility. Our kids continue to develop more complex language skills and their reading skills are becoming more

Grade 3 (Ages 8-9): Focus on Environment and sustainability through natural activities. Our kids are starting to learn more complicated math subjects, like decimals, long division,
and geometry.

Grade 4 (Ages 9-10): Focus on formal STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) subjects which are incorporated into many of the units of study.

Grade 5 (Ages 10-11): Focus on leadership, independent inquiry and in-depth research of subject matter. Transition class to High School or Secondary School. 

At the end of each stage using, children are assessed using progression tests and tasks in reading, writing, science, and math. At the end of Grade 5,  Children take the National Primary School Examination (NPSE), which is marked by the West African Examination Council (WAEC).

Underpinning our curriculum is a strong program of pastoral care and academic support. Ultimately, our aim is to ensure every student has a solid educational background as well as the social, personal and interpersonal skills to confidently move on to Secondary/High School in any part of the world they may find themselves.

bottom of page